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The Law of Total Tricks — Recap

• The Law of Total Tricks (“the law”) is a way to estimate 
how high to go in competitive auctions


• It uses estimates of how many cards you and your partner 
have in your suit, and of how many the opponents have in 
theirs


• It applies most directly to part score battles but can also 
be used for high level decisions 



The Law of Total Tricks — Recap 2

• In general, total tricks ≈ total trumps


• This applies when each side is in its best (usually longest) 
trump fit — when one side is bidding notrump, assume 
seven total trumps for them


• The rule says nothing about who will take the tricks, just 
what the sum will be




When does the law underestimate?

• Some factors indicate that the trick total will tend to be 
higher than the law suggests:


• Double fits


• “Pure” deals (minor honors in “our” suits only)


• Voids


• When these factors are known, tend to bid more



How to adjust: Early in the auction

• In the first round or so of bidding, you may have little to 
go on, but be aware of positive and negative factors:


• Bid more with a void


• Bid more with “chunky” suits (those with minor honors) 
and less with aces and/or spaces. This matters most 
with preempts.


• Remember, this is for competitive purposes; don’t ignore 
constructive decisions. Always look for any game or slam 
that might be good.



How to adjust: Late in the auction
• Always adjust your thinking as you learn more


• Watch out for minor honors in suits the opponents seem 
to hold.


• Watch for double fits — express and implied


• Strangely, aces in your suits can be bad news: They are 
points the bad guys don’t have, yet they’re still bidding…


• The player with more information should usually decide. 
Don’t make a decision in front of partner unless you are 
certain.



Double or Save — sometimes the law 
tells us we should double (maybe)

• In principle the law doesn’t tell us anything about who can 
make what


• But sometimes the law tells us that someone has made a 
mistake (just not who)


• Especially at matchpoints, we may work out that we should 
double… even when we’re not sure we can set them


• When the opponents have clearly overbid the law by more 
than one, double if you think you were going plus



Double or Save — Example

• Let’s return to our familiar eight hearts/eight spades 
example from the previous lesson


• Recall that with sixteen trumps total, we (holding hearts) 
should bid 3♥ if necessary, but they (holding spades) 
should not bid 3♠


• But suppose they do bid 3♠. How should we decide 
what to do?



Double or Save — What matters?
• Were we wrong about how many trumps? (If probably yes, pass or 

bid more.)


• Were we making our contract? (If probably yes, tend to bid more or 
double)


• If we were making 3♥, that would have been +140. At 
matchpoints, it is critical to “protect our plus”, often by doubling, 
to get back to even or better versus the field


• If we were going down, it is “heads we win, tails we don’t lose” 
— we have lost nothing, and gain if both sides are going down


• At IMPs, double a partscore only when you are confident



Double or Save — Example Numbers
• We bid 3♥, which we think was making. They bid 3♠. We think there are 

sixteen trumps.


• If we were making nine tricks, that would have been +140. If we are right, 
the field will have lots of +140s our way.


• The law suggests that they will make seven tricks, for down 2.


• If they are not vulnerable, +100 will be a fairly bad score (and +50 
even worse). We must either bid on, or double and hope for down 2 
(for +300). If there is an extra trick and they are down only one, we 
can’t win.


• If they are vulnerable, +200 will be good, so maybe we don’t need to 
double. But if there is an extra trick we need to double to get that +200.



Double or Save — Notrump Auctions
• When our side has bid notrump and they compete, we should often 

double or save if notrump had a decent chance to make:


• If they have eight trumps, the total is fifteen. That means they are safe at 
the two level if they have a fit. But…


• If we have six of their trumps, we should usually either double or bid 
game. If they are down one, +50 will lose to those making 1 notrump, 
and +100 will lose if we were making +120.


• If we have five or fewer trumps (meaning they have eight), they have 
probably found a good contract. If you can’t double on power, you 
should usually compete (in a a suit). If they have that good a fit you 
probably do too.


• At the three level, often double.



When They Sacrifice

• When our side has bid game (and expected to make it), we may 
have to decide what to do at the five level. The law can help, but 
you have to consider several things.


• Were you making your contract? If no, they have taken a bad 
sacrifice; double and take your profit (unless they might make it, 
in which case pass).


• Are you making at the five level? If not clearly yes, they may 
have taken a good sacrifice but there’s nothing you can do but 
double and take your plus.


• The hardest questions come when you think there’s a good 
chance you can make one more (let’s say five of your major).



When they sacrifice — example

• We bid 4♠, and expected to make it. They bid 5♥, which is 
going down. We think we can make 5♠.


• Suppose there are 20 trumps: If we can make 5♠, they are 
down 2. If nonvulnerable versus vulnerable, double for +500 
(versus +450). Otherwise, be willing to bid on if you are sure 
it will make.


• Now suppose there are only nineteen trumps. Now, us 
making 5♠ suggests they will be down 3. Doubling is better 
unless we are vulnerable and they are not, and then only if 
we make exactly eleven tricks.



The importance of what the field does

• The foregoing assumed the field is bidding the game our way. 
if not, we may have “won” the board just by bidding this high:


• Suppose we are not vulnerable. We were making +420 or 
+450 (we’re not sure), but the field is making lots of +170s 
and +200s. We were getting a top.


• Now the opponents sacrifice. They are going down one or 
two. (If more, the decision is probably easy.)


• +300 for down two doubled, or +200 for down one doubled if 
they are vulnerable, is worse than we were going to get but is 
still a top, and is safer.



At high levels, be careful about 
adjustments

• High level competition often involves double fits and 
voids, which increase the trick total. If in doubt, add a 
trick to the total, especially at IMPs.


• If the opponents appear to have bid too high, they may 
know something you don’t. How experienced are they? 
How much respect do they have for you?


• On the other hand, sometimes honors in their suits make 
it clear that someone has overbid. Decide who, and pass 
or double.



Warning: Don’t Turn the Page!

The next page shows the deals we’re about to play, so 
please don’t look until you’ve played them 

Conditions for hands:


1. Dealer North, both vulnerable


2. Dealer West, both vulnerable





Hands for Play — Hand 1



Hands for Play — Hand 2



Suggested Reading

• To Bid or Not to Bid: The Law of Total Tricks by Larry 
Cohen (This book covers lessons 3 and 4; there are many 
others but it remains the best.)


• Complete Book on Hand Evaluation in Contract Bridge by 
Mike Lawrence. (Includes “in and out” valuation, which is 
relevant to both losing trick count and the law.)


• These slide decks are available on my website at 
www.dougcouchman.com/bridgelessons. (No password 
required, just view or download them.)

http://www.dougcouchman.com/bridgelessons


Coming in Future Lessons

• Nothing specific planned, so tell me what you would like 
me to do.


• No definite schedule, but Wednesday mornings are likely 
(perhaps two per month).



About this Presentation
• Prepared and presented by Doug Couchman; copyright Doug Couchman 2019


• Doug operates his own tutoring business, specializing in graduate admission exams 
(LSAT, MCAT, GMAT, and GRE)


• He has been involved in bridge since the late 90s:


• Former ACBL tournament director


• Current member of the ACBL Masterpoint Committee and the Board of 
Governors


• He teaches bridge and is available for instructive and competitive play; inquire 
for details


• doug@dougcouchman.com; 512-934-1566


• More information at www.dougcouchman.com
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